Crazy Love: All or Nothing

imgres
Crazy love.

When I think of “crazy love”, I think of unrelenting, passionate and overwhelming love.  I think of the way I crave chocolate during finals week, or the way my dog reacts to an untouched rawhide bone.  When I think of love, I think of E.E. Cummings’ last stanza of “somewhere i have travelled, and gladly beyond”:

(i do not know what it is about you that closes
and opens; only something in me understands
the voice of your eyes is deeper than all roses)
nobody,not even the rain,has such small hands

Crazy love is grand.  We connect love to our senses: the smell of roses, the feel of sunshine, the glint in his eyes when you ask, “How do I look?”.  Beautiful, right?

Now what if I told you there is someone who loves you beyond your senses?  What if I told you there is someone whose love for you is so much bigger than any love you could think up?

There is.  His name is Jesus.

Crazy Love

I read the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan almost a year ago at an interesting time in my life.  I was jaded and dissatisfied by a world that commanded my full attention.  I thought as long as I put “Jesus” on my list of priorities, I was a good Christian girl.  I had him on my “to-do” list:

  1. Pick up groceries
  2. Outline exam final
  3. Call Mom
  4. Clean bathroom
  5. (if time) Love on Jesus

For me, Jesus just wasn’t a priority.  He was part of my life, but He was never my life.  But wasn’t that what it meant to be a modern Christian?  Depending on my day, Jesus scrambled from #1 to #5 on my list of priorities.  Some days I completely dismissed him. I was in love with the world and in order to keep up with it, Christ got pushed back further and further…

The thing is, the Lord never asked for ordinary love.  In fact, He never asked anything ordinary of us.  He called for all or nothing.  He asked for crazy love.  Actually, He demands it.

“…when we love God, we naturally run to Him-frequently and zealously. Jesus didn’t command that we have a regular time with Him each day. Rather, He tells us to ‘love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ He called this the ‘first and greatest commandment’ (Matt. 22:37-38). The results are intimate prayer and study of His Word. Our motivation changes from guilt to love.”

Crazy Love changed my perspective on the subject of love. It called me to examine my lifestyle, my priorities, and my world.  As Francis Chan writes, “a lukewarm Christian is an oxymoron; there is no such thing“. The book is convicting, but comes from a place of sincere love.

The Lord doesn’t want to be #5 or even #1 on my to-do list – He wants it all. He wants to be in everything I do. Isn’t that how crazy love works in the first place?

“True faith means holding nothing back; it bets everything on the hope of eternity.”

So let’s spread this crazy love. Let’s change what it means to be a modern Christian. Y’all, it’s all or nothing.

8 thoughts on “Crazy Love: All or Nothing

  1. Tori,

    You are such an amazing person! I am so happy to have known you back in middle school. You are honestly an inspiration and I love your posts! Thank you for doing what you love. You will go places for sure!!

    With much love,
    Nancy L.

Leave a Reply

